Burgh le Marsh, St Peter & St Paul

Fine medieval parish church set in a former market town. Impressive tower is late Perpendicular. Clerestoried nave has carved ceiling bosses including eleven green men faces. Jacobean pulpit dates from 1625.  Fine Jacobean lectern crafted by Jabez Good, a local man. It is in memory of William George Tozer, a vicar who became the second Bishop of Central Africa. Unique painted clock with inscription on the tower. Medieval paintings on pillars and arches. Memorabilia from St Paul’s Missionary College (closed 1936).  

Opening times 2-3 September
Saturday 9am-5pm  
Sunday 10.30am-5.30pm (service 9.30am and 6pm) 

Postcode: PE24 5DY

Get daily updates on the festival in social media:

Photo by Hannah Smelt
CC BY-SA 2.0